Before we go any further, though, I need to remind you that I am not a doctor or social worker. Policy sets forth what they should do. college Grounds for Involuntary Termination of Parental Rights. We want to work with you and help your family. There seems to be no way to change the progressive tendency to take parenting away from parents. CPS has the right to contact your child and interview them outside your presence, within 72 hours of your childrens placement, Office of the Family and Childrens Ombudsman, detailed definition of child abuse and neglect, working with domestic violence victims to increase their own safety, respecting the protective efforts and decision making of adult domestic violence victims, holding domestic violence perpetrators accountable for their abuse and for becoming safe parents, the perpetrators tactics of control (i.e. However, extreme neglect is one of the more common reasons why CPS can take your child. children If a parent is doing everything they can to get by, thats not abuse. Child removal law, policy, and execution are there to provide for the bestpossibleprotection of children when the parent cannot or will not. How To Avoid Family Disputes Over Your Property, 7 Smart Steps You Can Take to Protect Yourself Financially in Divorce, How to Establish Paternity and Parentage in Washington State, 7 Side Hustles to Make Money After Divorce. You can also choose not to use a public defender and instead hire an attorney at your own expense. For 24/7 Legal Representation in Michigan - Contact Us. In some cases, individuals do it out of anger or spite. I might not like it. The DC Child and Family Services Agency (CFSA) protects District children from abuse and neglect and helps their families. If the CPS investigator determines your child is in danger of abuse or neglect, you have a right to know the specifically what the CPS investigator is concerned about. (So what about the kids I knew in foster care who were taken away under little to